Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
649 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I was wondering if anyone has any input on the personal finance courses offered through the Canadian Securities Institute? I am personally interested in the Canadian Securities Course (CSC), Financial Planning I & II and Personal Finance Services Advice. What do outsiders/experienced professionals think of these courses and how much benefit is there?

My background is 2 diplomas (1 business, 1 accounting) and I'm finishing up a Bachelor of Commerce specializing in Accounting with an aim to get a CA or CGA professional designation.

So I'm thinking that taking such CSI courses, which also transfer towards Certified Financial Planner CFP designation should I decide to pursue that in addition to CA/CGA, could help to improve my resume and personal finance knowledge.

Feel free to share your experiences, thoughts, etc! I appreciate your comments...

·
Registered
5,464 Posts
Also, FWIW, the CA designation allows you to challenge the CFP exam - you don't need to do the CSC courses.

And if your goal is to become a CFP (as opposed to a licensed investment advisor), I'd skip the CSC courses in favour of some targeted reading.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Take them if you need them to get licensed for your current job.

Make sure your employer pays for the courses.

If you are looking for work you are better off spending your time networking rather than studying these courses.

·
Registered
649 Posts
Discussion Starter #5