Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 142 Posts

·
Banned
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
What is a young couple starting a family supposed to do to begin there lives?

THIS IS SO FRUSTRATING. BOTH MY FUTURE WIFE AND I TRIED TO DO EVERYTHING RIGHT IN LIFE

We were taught at a young age to get an education and finish school. My wife is a university graduate after 8 years and I am a College Graduate after 5 years, check.

We were taught at a young age not to go into debt, so we both worked and went to school at same time to not have student loans, school has cost over $70,000k combined, check.

We were taught at a young age not to go out buy expensive things on credit, ok, both cars paid for (not attractive, yes they are older but run) no credit card debt and luxury items such as tvs, trips furniture are paid for with cash, check.

We were taught at a young age to save as much money while living at home, We are now few years away from 30 need our own space for our family and have saved almost $100,000 in cash together.

We were taught at a young age to always own your own home and not make your landlord rich by paying his mortgage. So we did, no we could not afford a 4 bedroom home in Toronto (2 children) we bough new up in vaughn, even though we commute to Toronto for work, the savings in a 4 bedroom in toronto vs vaughn is worth an hour in traffic.

So we bought new detached at an amazing price of $499k, yes alot, but in comparason to Toronto, Etobicoke, Mississauga, it was all we could afford on paper, that is a good area for children and within driving distance of Toronto.