Canadian Money Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I own this etf for many years. After many years of money printing, I expected the inflation will rise and when it does it will go up high and fast. I convinced myself to accept low dividend yield expecting protection against inflation. Fast forward, inflation is rising fast, however XRB price is dropping and the yield still low.
I understand the bond price is dropping, but where is the protection against inflation?
Any thoughts on why is this happening?

·
Registered
89 Posts
I’m no expert but from what I’ve read real return bonds offer inflation protection in 2 ways, 1. the principal is raised 2. Coupon payment is adjusted based on the new principal.

I recall reading both of these are done every 6 months (December and June) so there may be a lag between RRB and seeing the inflation protection.

Just a thought.

·
Registered
24,281 Posts
The adjustment on principal may be happening, and at first glance you would think the unit price should respond (rise with inflation). However this holds very long term bonds, and the prices of those are volatile and can change dramatically. So even if principal is rising, the volatility of the bond prices is working against it.

As @Flugzeug says, the coupon payments should be increasing during high inflation. So I think the main benefit of XRB is supposed to be rising semi-annual cash distributions. But this hasn't happened yet either. Here are the recent cash distributions, rounded to make it easier to see

2019 June, 0.23
2019 Dec, 0.24
2020 June, 0.22
2020 Dec, 0.19
2021 June, 0.18
2021 Dec, 0.18

High inflation readings only started at the end of last year. Maybe this means that distributions will increase this year/next year.

I'm still not sure this will work as intended. I don't understand why these distributions have decreased over the last 3 years.