Canadian Money Forum banner
1 - 20 of 332 Posts

·
Registered
740 Posts
I have been driving a Volt for 3 years. Love it. Not all electric, but I put something like 70L of fuel into it in a typical year for trips that are beyond its electric range. The cost to drive on electric is about one half o ne third the cost to drive this thing on gas. On gas it gets 5.2l/100km.

So the next car will have a larger electric range and will be all electric.

·
Registered
2,764 Posts
It will be depend on the evolution of battery technology. And range.

Perhaps not the next, but most likely the one after that.

·
Registered
732 Posts
Pretty sure our next car is going to be fully electric, partly due to the fact I don't see us getting a new car until another 5 to 10 years which will allow for more innovation and infrastructure investment in the mean time.
Range is a big consideration for us too because we like going on road trips. I don't see range being a significant issue for daily driving in the city. However, this Wendover video seems to suggest we're not too far off from expected range requirements so instead the issue going forward is fast charging. Charging requires inverters to convert AC to DC. Fast charging requires larger, pretty expensive inverters. And there's not enough supercharging stations which apparently would be helped with plug standardization instead of proprietary versions.

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
Depends on the price vs. a comparable gas car. I could accept paying an additional $5K for an EV, knowing I'll start to come out ahead on gas savings within a few years. But we're nowhere near that point.

·
Registered
21,087 Posts
My next car will be a slightly used reliable model. I would consider an EV if I can find one that's lightly used, in good shape for around 5k to 10k.

Can one buy an EV for that much?

I'm going to guess no, so I'll likely buy a gas-powered car since good ones can be found for 10k or less.

·
Registered
3,690 Posts