Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2,054 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been a property manager for the last 10 years or so and in that time I have seen my share of crazy things.

I hate condo's as investments here are my reasons why.

First and foremost the Board of Directors who actually make the decisions about the condo and how the money is spent have no training except for the ability to sign a offer of purchase and sale for a unit in the building. They have no idea and no ability to manage the finances of a multimillion corporation. They have the time and willingness to volunteer.

Property managers who manage the building are generally paid according to a percentage of the gross operating expenses/budget. This is really bad because if your expenses go down so does their pay. Do you understand why your management fees always go up?

People generally do not understand that by buying a condo they are buying into the liability of the whole building. So when they find oil seeping through the parking garage wall.... you own a piece of that. By owning it that means you get to pay a special levy of $$$$

Developers know when they are building this thing that in a few years time they are out the door, they turn the building over to the shiny new board members. Consequently they build for 2-3 years after that it's the condo unit's owner's problem. So when they can buy the higher grade/thickness copper pipes they don't. In apartment buildings it is common to have the pipes last over 25 years before replacing. In condos I have worked in buildings 8 years old were needing all pipes replaced. And so on and so forth.