Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Banned
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
first off I didn't win the lottery, just a hypothetical situation, taking the recently 649 winnings of 20million where do you put it?, obviously trying to keep the taxes to a minimal

·
Banned
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'd invest it in a diversified portfolio mostly in stocks and live off the proceeds. A 2% portfolio yield would mean an income of $400K before taxes. Plenty to live on and not touch the principal for a long time.

how much fixed income? would you consider a bond ETF, as far as stocks would you consider an ETF or individual dividend stocks?

you mentioned $400k before taxes which is dividend yield, does one pay tax on 200k (50% capital gain) or the whole 400k because it is a dividend yield? I guess what I am asking is dividend yield considered capital gain (I am still a novice in investment concepts)

·
Registered
3,936 Posts
I think we need to take one step back. What are your goals for the rest of your life? Do you want to move to Beverly Hills and start living (and maintaining) the high life? Or would you just pay off your now-meager debts, quit your job and continue living as before, perhaps buying a new house and car?

IMHO you should answer these questions for yourself first.

In my own case, I would stop working and simply live off the principal. I see no reason to invest and seek out returns with that much money handed to me, given present circumstances. For an average guy like me, $20 million is far more money than I would ever need over my life. Even if I hand out a couple million to family, that's still $18 million, a tidy sum that would be nowhere near exhausted if I bought a new car and house. I could actually be happy with $1 million.

·
Premium Member
2,686 Posts
how much fixed income? would you consider a bond ETF, as far as stocks would you consider an ETF or individual dividend stocks?