Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm in the process of planning out a long-term dividend portfolio and was hoping to gain some insight from your combined experiences in this realm. The intention of this post isn't to garner specific stock picks which I can copy, I very much plan to do my own research, but I am more so interested in the thought processes behind your picks and why you chose them.

That being said I'd love to hear about your favourite dividend stock pick, and the reasons why it's your favourite.

Also, if you had any tips or things to look out for when choosing and deciding between dividend stocks I'd love to hear them. I am fairly new to the investing world but I am hoping to act as a sponge and absorb as much knowledge as I can.

Cheers,

·
Registered
996 Posts
Hello R. Austin:

I don't have any favourite stocks to offer since I index my portfolio. But if I were to put together a dividend portfolio for myself, I would make sure that I diversify into all sectors appropriately, with no single stock representing more than 5% of my portfolio and no sector going above 25%. That, in my opinion, is far more important in terms of risk (and easier to control) than trying to figure out which bank would outperform another, etc.

I believe distinguished members of the forum have suggested 5-pack and 10-pack portfolios which fulfill the sector diversification, but obviously each position is going to be bigger than 5% at the outset. Nevertheless, the general principles can be extended to a 20-pack I guess.

Personally, I would also go a bit deeper into mid- and small caps. If there is value (in a general sense) to be found, it would be lurking in that space.

·
Registered
710 Posts
With a preamble it really depends on a number of factors and my goals and preferences may not align with yours...