Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys

I'm a recent engineering grad and my company contributes to my RRSP. I have just about $5K in it right now. I use my earnings to pay off my credit card debt and rent so I haven't added much investment or RRSP contributions yet. Will be able to do that next month when I'm done paying off my credit cards. (yeah, I've learned my lesson with these)

Here's my problem:

My company does group RRSP through RBC. right now I have their mutual funds which I'm not comfortable with. I think I can take more risks at 24. I've done investing myself when I did internship and I think I'm quite comfortable with doing it myself on Questrade.

But... I'd need to pay $50 every time I want to transfer from my RBC RRSP to Questrade. Or I costays pen direct investing with RBC and pay $29 per trade.

I don't plan to trade that much but do plan to buy and sell a couple times every quarter.

What would you do in my situation. Would you pay the $50 every so often to transfer the money over to Questrade or would you open up a direct investing account with RBC and pay 29 per trade? I don't expect to hit the 50K they need for me to qualify for lower rates anytime soon.

·
Registered
10,623 Posts
Hmmm ... I've heard complaints about lack of choice for the MFs offered and/or the fees the MFs charge. This is a first to hear there isn't enough risk.

When you say you could pay $29 with RBC - is that with the company RRSP money? If it's a personal RRSP in addition to the company RRSP - will RBC combine the two so that you qualify for cheaper trades earlier?

Finally - if you are not transferring the company RRSP money out, are there enough choices that you won't feel stuck with that money? (Would you be happy allocating some of the company RRSP to a bond MF, the rest to an equity MF and whatever is in your Questrade RRSP takes care of everything else?)

Cheers

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4