Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, this is my first time to the forum and wanted to ask others their opinions on my financial matter..

To give a bit of background; me and my significant other are in our mid to late 20's, have some debt (student loans 20k) own no property but do own a car. We have minimal savings (6k - in some RRSP and TFSA but not much).

We are about to receive a windfall of about 800k and are a little flustered at what to do with ALL of it. There is a string attached to the money, it is:

Property must be purchased in the lower Mainland. (Vancouver/Burnaby/Richmond) This property is for investment but also for the possiblity for future living - it will be rented out the first 3 to 5 years and after we plan to move to Vancouver/Lower Mainland. It is flexible whether we decide to keep that original property or sell and find a new place once we move. We are thinking of a 2 bdrm. townhouse or condo and we think it will cost us between $400,000 - $600,000.

With the remainder of the money, (about $300,000) we were thinking of purchasing another property in Alberta (where we currently reside) to live in while working. This would help us avoid renting BUT, (this is where I am unsure) I think it might be better for us to put a down payment of, say, 20% ($60,000) get a mortgage and invest the other $250,000. We can use the rental income from the Vancouver property to pay off the Alberta mortgage. On the other hand, we can just purchase the property in Alberta and sell it when we decide to move to B.C.

If we do invest, what types of investments should we be looking at? I have done a little of my own investing, but not with nearly this much money. I mostly invested in low-cost index funds and ETFs with my RRSP and TFSA. We are pretty risk tolerant and are young, would be nice to grow that 250k into a nest egg for the future.

I hope I covered everything. What would you do with the money?