Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the best ratio for ETF investing US & World vs. Canada in current situation

What is the best ratio for ETF investing US & World vs. Canada in current situation

·
Registered
2,626 Posts
What do you mean by 'current situation'?

I do not change my portfolio's geographical allocation breakdown, but some people rotate economic sectors and regions. I'm not good at chasing returns, or predicting markets that will yield the best returns so I keep it simple.

·
Banned
424 Posts
What is your current situation? My career prospects correlate with oil and base metal prices, so I look for ways to reduce their weight in my portfolio. I go 1/3 Canada, 1/3 US, 1/3 ex-North America with the stock portion of my portfolio. It is mostly index funds, but about half my Canadian portfolio is individual non-resource stocks.

Also consider currency risk. Where and when will you spend your money? Weight your portfolio accordingly.

·
Registered
2,108 Posts
I think cash is king in this part of the cycle. If you must invest & be diversified I would go Robo & go with something like wealthbar.

·
Registered
695 Posts
Rob Carrick had an interesting piece in the Globe that compared how balanced funds with strong track records were invested. Many funds have a sizable chunk invested in Canada -- about 50% Cdn, 25% US, 25% International of the Fund (excluding fixed income). The disclaimer is that past performance doesn't reflect future performance.

My personal take is that the Canadian index is not very balanced, as it mainly consists of financials and energy. If you can stomach more volatility, add more to weighting the Canadian index. Energy stocks will eventually bounce back up, at which time the Canadian market will outperform other markets.

·
Registered
55 Posts