Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Banned
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Like the title say's, what are you currently saving for?

I am currently saving to invest in real estate, either an investment property to rent out for years to come (long term project) or a property that I can flip in the coming months.

FYI: I am a Real Estate Broker

So, WHAT ARE YOU SAVING FOR? Discuss!

·
Banned
2,508 Posts
End goal=Retirement.

On track to pay off $9K car debt by April 1. 0% interest ends thereafter
Everything else goes in mortgage. Saving to upsizing in 1-2 years.
If good deals come by in the Stock market, we just our HELOC.

·
Registered
3,936 Posts
I am currently saving - my savings! I am NOT currently saving to spend. I need to beef up my three savings tiers. The structure and buckets are in place, but they are not full enough to protect against life's emergencies. Bucket 2 had to be used this summer and is empty. My priority continues to be on filling up these buckets for at least the next 8 months. This gives me freedom and control over my own life and I am therefore not dependent upon others to keep food on my table in case of adversity.

·
Registered
12,723 Posts
Royal mail,

Since you're always referring to your savings tiers, why not add a signature with a link to a post where you explain yourself more clearly. Just a suggestion! You say people should search for your old posts for more info, but that is not particularly easy.

Just a suggestion.

·
Registered
3,936 Posts
We are not really saving for anything.

All of our cash goes towards the mortgage.

Should be mortgage and totally debt free in less than three years.

Then we will look at what is the plan for future employment and retirement.
What will happen if you suffer job loss in the next three years?

·
Registered
576 Posts
We are not really saving for anything.

All of our cash goes towards the mortgage.

Should be mortgage and totally debt free in less than three years.