Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3,960 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After completing my return using Studio Tax, I printed the full return as a pdf. I was surprised to see a Schedule 7 and it had a n amount of ~$14,000 in Box 1 of section A. It was not a form that I had open when completing return. This is what Schedule 7 looks like:

I am 81 and have not been able to contribute to RRSP for about 10 years, even if I wanted to. I have been using Studio Tax since 2013 and have never completed Schedule 7 when entering all data manually. So where did Studio Tax 2020 get that amount? It had to be as a result of autofilling some slips this year. The same amount does appear in my CRA account, but not on any autofilled slip or form that I am aware of. And not in my 2019 assesment.

Do other 70+ taxpayers complete that same Schedule 7 each year where zer0 is added to the axailable contribution room each year, even although it can't be used?

·
Registered
11,221 Posts
My best guess is that you had some RRSP contribution room left that you did not use (example - year after retirement) and it follows you forever. I had some of that but my marginal tax rate early in retirement was such that it made no sense for me to use it.

My NOAs show unused RRSP contribution room as a result of 'unregistered pension plan payments (Line 109 - Periodic Payments) on a T4A and it has grown every year. I suspect if I used AutoFill, Schedule 7 would be triggered. Check last year's NOA to see if you have unused RRSP contribution room.

·
Registered
3,960 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·