Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
5,464 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
(aka "Moneygal's shameless self-promotion thread").

I participated in a debate for TVO's "The Agenda" on the topic of Private Pensions, Public Problems. It will air on April 5 at 8 p.m. in Ontario, should be posted on their web site shortly thereafter.

The other participants were:

Murray Gold, partner, Koskie Minsky LLP & Expert Advisor to the Ontario Expert Commission on Pensions

Ken Georgetti, president, Candian Labour Congress

Malcolm Hamilton, senior partner, Mercer Canada

Bill Kyle, Senior Vice-President, Group Retirement Services Great-West Life, & Ontario Government Advisory Council on Pensions and Retirement Income.

The impetus for the debate was this op-ed I co-wrote for The Toronto Star, which was based in turn on an article in this magazine, which is an excerpt from this (forthcoming) book.

I'm no media expert and for all I know, I came off like a total doofus. However, given the level of interest in pensions here, I thought this show might be of interest.

·
Registered
3,061 Posts
Looking forward to watching it online next week!

I also look forward to the book, although I must say the term "Product Allocation" in the subtitle could be off-putting for a general reader...it's a simple enough concept but "product allocation" sounds technical and complicated to me, something that is likely to induce the MEGO (My Eyes Glaze Over) effect.

Even just calling it "Pensionize Your Nest Egg: How to Create a Guaranteed Income for Life" would make it more compelling and less scary-sounding. But that's just me. :)

·
Registered
12,722 Posts
Congrats! I think people are doing us all a service by sticking their neck out and sharing their ideas in public like this.

·
Registered
1,516 Posts