Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,455 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After a recent discussion on MDJ about helping kids out with their university expenses, it got me curious as to tuition fees across the country.

I'll start,

When i graduated MUN in 2003, it was about $1900 for tuition for 5 courses/semester not including books. I believe that tuition is about the same today.

·
Registered
419 Posts
It was $1,500 for a semester for me at the University of Ottawa Faculty of Engineering from 1997 - 2001. Books and other expenses were extra.

Just a quick note: for higher education, sometimes community colleges are a better choice, depending on your passion or interest. And the tuition fee is a fraction of what you will pay at university.

·
Registered
72 Posts
It was $1,500 for a semester for me at the University of Ottawa Faculty of Engineering from 1997 - 2001. Books and other expenses were extra.

Just a quick note: for higher education, sometimes community colleges are a better choice, depending on your passion or interest. And the tuition fee is a fraction of what you will pay at university.
Really? That's pretty cheap. I graduated from Ottawa U, in 2001, with a degree in english lit and my tuition was closer to 2400 per semester (after fees). So, I guess I don't know the tuition rates before fees.

It seems more and more universities are just tacking on fees to their tuition.

edit: (or p.s.?) now it is over 2800 a semester (including fees): http://www.admission.uottawa.ca/Default.aspx?tabid=3399

·
Registered
25 Posts
For engineering at the University of Manitoba, you are looking at about 2800 for a 5 course term this coming year. And yes it does seem that fees keep on rising.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I think I had gone up a lot since I graded from UBC. $1800 is a number I think I recall but not sure. I was talking to a girl about to go back to UBC and she said something like 3k.

·
Registered
52 Posts