Canadian Money Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Super Moderator
4,446 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone have an e-bike ... what type and your thoughts on how it is?

I've been riding a rigid mtn bike for over 20 years now (same one btw) and thinking of upgrading. Mainly do pavement, gravel and light trails and was thinking of upgrading to a hardtail and to a lesser degree, a full suspension bike/e-bike.

Thinking ahead, investment wise, hardtail prices aren't too bad but full suspension & mtn e-bikes still seem rather expensive. I know some of the expense is pandemic related (shortages,etc) so I think the overall market prices will come down in the next year or so ... might be good to wait for that.

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
Anyone have an e-bike ... what type and your thoughts on how it is?

I've been riding a rigid mtn bike for over 20 years now (same one btw) and thinking of upgrading. Mainly do pavement, gravel and light trails and was thinking of upgrading to a hardtail and to a lesser degree, a full suspension bike/e-bike.

Thinking ahead, investment wise, hardtail prices aren't too bad but full suspension & mtn e-bikes still seem rather expensive. I know some of the expense is pandemic related (shortages,etc) so I think the overall market prices will come down in the next year or so ... might be good to wait for that.
Are they even available? I though supply for bikes have been fairly limited due to logistics and high demand.

I know a colleague. who has one and uses it on a daily commute of around an hour or so. If you are just keeping to street-type surfaces, I don't imagine it would be an issue. Winter and snow may factor in, but that depends on your weather.

·
Registered
661 Posts
My friend recently bought his daughter (~ 40) a Gazelle. Out the door it was 4000 +. She did meal deliveries on her peddle bike in Vancouver and is very happy with the new Gazalle.

·
Registered
59 Posts