Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 148 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
The dividend stock investing vs. passive index investing debate:

I am new to investing and lost about 10% on my broad based index funds (which I have heard and understand is part of the game).

I am hearing about many different investment styles in this blog but it's possible to divide the majority into 2 groups:

The first, are broad based couch potato type, buy and hold, strictly index investors. There seems to be a consensus among this group that losses have lately been in the 10% range regardless of the impact it's had on their sleep.

In contrast I've been hearing from a the second group of investors that their portfolios have lost but a tiny percentage in comparison and that they are collecting dividends which further help to mitigate their losses. These folks focus on picking a few blue chip dividend stocks which they keep them for the long haul till their portfolios are of a sufficient amount to enable them to retire on the income exclusively from their dividends. Furthermore a large proportion of dividend investors make the claim that they are have higher rates of return than index investors.

The latter approach seems to offer some distinct advantages. If this is true, then why aren't more etf investors not converting the majority of their portfolio to holdings in a few well diversified blue chip dividend stocks?

Your opinion?

·
Registered
1,760 Posts
You have to find what's best for you. Everyone is completely different.

Personally, I think passive investing is very, very poor based on the consensus couch potato examples. For someone who doesn't want to pick stocks, a much better portfolio would be a split between fixed income, cash, and gold, with no stocks whatsoever. The worst trend in couch potato portfolios is splitting between Canadian, US, and International ETFs. Stocks are stocks, and in a global market they all move with each other.