Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Banned
429 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
One of the most interesting things I heard was that if you have 3 or more investment properties, they're considered as a portfolio, and as long as rents are 110% of mortgage payments, property taxes, and condo fees, they take it off the debt service calculation.

Is that still true? Anyone in banking have insight into this?

·
Banned
1 Posts
Hello,

I am a mortgage broker and yes the gross income from your rentals when considering a portfolio must be 110%of mortgage payments. What they are saying is if you have a pith payment (principal interest heat and tax + if condo or strata fees apply) of say $1000 and income of $1100 from the properties they will do the deal. This is not saying that they will just omit the debt. The best banks out there right now are considering %80 rental offset. what this means is that they will take 80% of the rental payments and directly apply this to your debt load from these residences, in some cases there is a remainder of income and this is slapped on to you GDS (gross debt servicing) / TDS (Total debt servicing) ratios generated from your personal income and debt load. Where this is important is that there is also rental inclusion offset, which just adds the rental amount to your GDS/TDS.

For Example:

Rental offset

Rent of 2000.00 PITH+C/S of 1000.00 Between all properties

1000K will be deducted and now you make 1K more a month on your income which in turn increases your buying power by 440.00 a month

Example 2

Rental inclusion offset

Rent of 2000.00 PITH+C/S of 1000.00 Between all properties

This money will be added to your income only so that means that your will increase your buying power by 880.00 per month BUT you will have to also deduct your 1000.00 from your income. End result is you loose 120.00 of your buying power.