Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Banned
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm new to this forum and hope that it is a place that I can find some sound financial advice.

I am a teacher in Ontario but have spent 11 years overseas. While overseas I began investing in an Expatriate Fund with Royal Skandia that is now worth $17000. I began this investment in case I did not return to Canada, but two and half years ago I did just that... return to Canada (Ontario to be specific) to teach.

Now I am paying into the Ontario Teacher's Pension Plan as well as the Royal Skandia fund as well. I am beginning to find that paying into both is making my financial situation a bit challenging. On top of that I have a personal line of credit which I owe $7000 on at 6%. If I could get out of the Skandia investment I would but it seems that I would surrender 50% for early withdrawal.

Does anyone have any advice on what I should do? Is there any way around paying the 50% penalty or at least lessening it a bit?

Thanks in advance.

Trevor

·
Registered
5,464 Posts
I'm not sure we know enough to provide any advice. All I know about Expatriate is that they are a broker, and Skandia is an insurance company. I don't know what the redemption fees are on this product, and whether there are any ways to reduce them. (I don't even know what the product is...sounds like something pension-like or designed to replicate a pension - most investment funds don't have any kind of minimum commitment.)

However, if you are asking for advice generically, your question is whether you should stop paying into an investment fund and redeem early while you have other debt and are finding the commitment overwhelming. The answer is probably yes...based on the limited amount I know so far.

·
Registered
5,464 Posts
Also - it would be helpful to know what the purpose of the invested funds is. Is it for retirement income? Are you on track to reach that goal through other means?

·
Banned