Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there anything wrong with putting my monthly contributions into 100% stocks right now that they're so low - or even selling my current 80/20 portfolio to buy 100% stocks? Is this considered "timing the market" or being smart about it?

I am new to investing, and want to build good habits here, so I am wary of fallacies in my thinking. But I don't see it, hence why I'm reaching out. As I see it, buy low and ride the wave back up. I am thinking of investing future monthly contributions in 100% stocks until markets get back to what they were (possibly a long time, understood), and then investing mostly in bonds to get the ratio back to that 80/20 or so.

Am I fundamentally wrong somewhere here? I feel like this falls into "timing markets" which I have learned is "bad" but I simply cannot see how it would be bad to buy cheap stocks. I know a lot of Couch Potatoes just stay at that 80/20 and don't even think about it. This makes me second-guess myself.

Currently, I have a 80/20 stock/ bond split and am very securely employed. I have a long time until retirement, so I'm okay with risk/ loss if it leads that way. I took a big hit with the crash, but not worried about it at all (which is another thing that worries me, but that's a different matter).

·
Registered
11,807 Posts
Nothing wrong with this at all. If you have an allocation you are trying to maintain, you can usually get away without rebalancing by just buying whatever part of your portfolio is underweight.

·
Registered
527 Posts
If you are many years from retirement, IMO, yes, it's a good time to lean closer to 100% equities with valuations where they are. Take into consideration the threat of a double dip though but shouldn't worry people with a longer timeline.