Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, let me say that I am relatively new to the stock market.

I think I may have just made an expensive mistake... Last week I purchased 6 shares of GMCR. I was aware that there was an upcoming 3:1 stock split, and today the stock price was adjusted to reflect the split. However, my portfolio is only showing the 6 shares that I originally purchased, with a loss of over $300.00. I was under the impression that I would automatically receive 12 additional shares because a stock split is supposed to be a zero-sum operation.

Then last night I came across this:

The Company will distribute two additional shares of its common stock for every one share of common stock to all shareholders of record at the close of business on Monday, May 10, 2010. The shares will be distributed on Monday, May 17, 2010 by the Company's transfer agent, Continental Stock Transfer, so that the new shares issued will equal three times the pre-split number. The Company's common stock will begin trading on a split-adjusted basis on Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at the Monday, May 17, 2010 closing price divided by three.
Now, does the bolded text above mean that anyone who bought shares of GMCR after May 10 will lose 2/3 of their money if they hold the stock until May 18?

:eek:

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
It sounds like the people who bought after May 10th, will still have the same amount of shares. If you owned the shares and they were registered through the broker prior to the May 10th date, you would get 2 shares for every one you owned.

Having said that...the price you paid probably reflected the worth of the shares on that given day.

·
Banned
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That's what I was afraid of. It sounds like the lucky person I bought my shares from is going to get the 12 shares instead of me.

Having said that...the price you paid probably reflected the worth of the shares on that given day.