Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello:

I just wanted to give a sketch of my current net worth. I graduated with Bachelor's Degree in 2016, and I'll be returning to complete a Master's Degree (in History) this fall. I'm currently 24.

Investments: $65,163
Cash: $5,057
Debt: $1,445 (cash back cards paid off monthly)
Residence: $0
Net worth: $68,775

One of the challenges I've faced building my net worth is increasing my income. The job market in Calgary (and Alberta generally) is so-so for recent grads, and consequently I count myself lucky to have a "fun job." 2017 I earned about $30K. My feeling is that I should stick with this fun job rather than pursue something else at least while completing the first year of my academic program.

Additionally, I should get some funding for my Master's Degree. With tuition and expenses that will be about $1,000 a month, which I hope to supplement with work (hopefully to at least $2,500/month). Any advice on how to build some more investments would be appreciated. My total expenses are about $1,100/month.

Additionally my portfolio breakdown is as follows. All TFSA while I have room (tax free vs. deferred): 47% S&P 500, 35% BRK, 10% RBC, 8% Suncor. Going forward I'm going to avoid singe equities and lean towards broad index investments, because the timing the market for small investors is a bad bet. I suppose a strategy is to invest in at least $10,000 increments in the S&P 500. Also aware that there will be large stock market corrections.

Any comments or suggestions?

·
Registered
2,103 Posts
You're doing well to be fresh out of school with other than a negative net worth.

In terms of the challenge of increasing income, I would say from now on do not spend more time pursuing post-secondary education unless you can see it translating into enhanced income. That is unless you have already achieved your financial goals and you are doing it for the love of learning.