Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Banned
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am getting started very late in life planning and saving for retirement. I was hoping to gather some suggestions, tips, further reading suggestions from the people here.

Briefly, I will be about 44yo when I am able to start seriously saving for retirement. I was one of those career students in the 20s and early 30s - I completed a bachelor's degree, and then not knowing what I wanted to do I spent 2 years just doing general undergraduate courses. After that I completed a master's degree, and then I decided I wanted to go to medical school, so I had to go back to undergrad to pick up a few more courses. Medical school for 4 years, residency another 5 years, and then I can start working.

By the end of medical school and residency, I will be about $160,000 in debt but earning $300,000 - $500,000 depending on where/which hospital I work. $130,000 of the debt will be at prime at a bank LOC (2.5% for now), and the remaining $30,000 will be student loan (about 8%). I am in residency now earning about $55,000/yr with little savings. I have started repayment on the $30,000 loan but am only paying interest on the $130,000 loan. The low interest LOC is near maxed out which is why I haven't moved the high interest loan over to it.

My questions - should I start saving now or focus on paying down the student loan and LOC with any extra money? When I finish residency, how aggressive should I be in paying off the low interest LOC - all extra money or save for retirement at the same time? What would your strategy for the next 15 years be given my situation? Thanks.

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
Based on your eventual earning potential....

I would not start saving for retirement yet. Pay off your debts as aggressively as you can, when you can. Pay off the higher rate loan first.