Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I have a few general questions, in no particular order. These questions deal primarily with "what in the world am I to expect?" scenarios. I haven't been able to find concrete answers online and I was hoping for some general input on the situation.

I am a Software Engineer and I am hoping to start a company. I am not looking to be 100% self employed. Just something on the side that I can dedicate my evenings and weekends to. Of course I could do this without having a company registered to my name. In fact I have been doing some contract/freelance work online (nothing major, few bucks here and there) for the last 5 years. But I decided that instead of doing it under my name, I could get all fancy and start a company.

1) I am not looking at a lot of income. Maybe $500-2000/year - I should still be filing the T2125, shouldn't I??

2) I understand that things like rent and vehicle are deducted based on use (i.e. 20% area used, only 500km/year travelled, etc), but what about things like Internet and cellphone. Those are constant services on which I rely for work. Am I expected to claim a 2minute/day phone call??

3) Considering my income would be miniscule, is it okay that my expenses would be marginally larger than income? I mean, if I am earning $50 on a project and it costs me $100 in internet, phone, travel, etc costs... that's okay, right? (well not from a business model perspective, heh)