Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Banned
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello: I am a newbie invester at 50 (better late than never). I have just opened a new Self-Directed RRSP account through Questrade. I am going to start off buying some ETF's ... have not decided which ones yet. I was visiting the CRA site to try and find out what investments are eligible for RRSP accounts. It states on the CRA site that 'securities cannot be held in your own name' (see attached link). I do not know what the heck this means. Can anyone please provide an answer.

http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/tx/ndvdls/tpcs/rrsp-reer/cntrbtng/slfdrctd-eng.html

Also, I understand that many foreign investments are now allowed, but how can you be sure which ones can be held in your RRSP.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
3,423 Posts
I don't think you can buy anything through a discount broker that wouldn't be allowed in the RRSP (although there might be exceptions).

I believe that rule applies to physical goods - ie you can't include antique cars, art etc.

If you are planning to buy etfs, stocks or mutual funds then you should be fine.

·
Registered
343 Posts
'securities cannot be held in your own name'

As it refers to "self-directed RRSPs", this phrase sets out the difference between this type of account and an "individual RRSP". An individual RRSP account is an account that one holds with a fund company, bank or other financial institution. The only things that can be held in an individual RRSP are the investments offered by the bank/fund company. In industry parlance, an individual RRSP account is known as a "client name" RRSP account. As I understand it, this is because the owner of the account is the legal owner of the securities held in the account.