Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I've been browsing the forum for a few days now with great interest. I'm new to the forum and though I would get some of your opinions on how best to realize one of my goals for my RRSP.

I'm a young 30s professional and have been investing since 2007. I used the Home buyer's plan to withdraw money from my RRSP and put it towards a home in 2013 and completely wiped out my RRSP. I'm now slowly building it back up again and I would really welcome some advice on the following plan.

I intend to purchase $5000 of Mawer Balanced MAW104 in my RRSP as a core holding. This fund appeals to me for a variety of reasons: I think it is very well diversified in terms of its equity holdings by country and sector, it has performed very well, it covers the major asset classes without too much exposure to the Canadian equities market and I agree with the Mawer investment philosophy.

I'm now saving small amounts monthly in order to eventually purchase the minimum $5000 initial buy of MAW104. As the time horizon for this purchase is likely between 1-2 years from now, where should I be parking my monthly savings in order to accumulate the $5000? Does it make sense to invest that money in an index MF (such as RBF557 - US equity) in order to build up the savings, or would that be too risky given the relatively short time horizon?

I currently hold several equity funds (CIB520, RBF557, MMF4506) a bond fund (MDM010) and several Canadian and US dividend stocks in my RRSP.

Please let me know what you would do to save up the $5000 required.

·
Registered
3,160 Posts