Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1,020 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
To preface this, I still believe that the housing market is due for a substantial correction in the next 6-12 months, but I'm willing to accept that I may be wrong. Under normal circumstances I think a correction would be baked-in, but the amount of government intervention is unprecedented. It's difficult to anticipate what they'll do next. As of August, average home prices in Greater Vancouver are up roughly 5% YOY. That's not a significant amount, but I'll be keeping a close eye on how the numbers trend over the coming months.

I've been saving for a principle residence since 2016. I had a decent amount of cash already set aside, so I figured it would only take me 1-2 years to save up the necessary down payment. However, prices around here went up quite significantly from 2016-2018, so my timeline was pushed further into the future. After four years, I'm basically back to where I started. That is, I figure it will take me another 1-2 years to save up the necessary down payment, and that's assuming home prices don't increase faster than inflation. If there's another run-up in home prices, then it could take significantly longer.

The conventional wisdom is to never invest money you're going to need within 5 years, but in the current environment I'm beginning to think it's financial suicide to NOT be invested.

I could attempt to hedge a home price increase by investing 25% of the money into Canadian bank stocks -- if the housing market goes crazy, the banks are going to do very well. On the other hand, if the housing market tanks, bank shares could drop 50% in value. But since I only invested 25% of my capital, I'd only be down 12.5%, minus any dividends. In such a scenario, home prices would likely decrease more than 12%, meaning I'd still be ahead... though not as far ahead as if I'd stayed in cash.