Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Banned
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, I'm brand new to investing, but I'm excited about it. We don't have a lot of savings at the moment, but my wife and I have committed to saving as we want to actually retire some day!

We a have a lot of contribution room in our RRSP and TFSA. As well, we have a large mortgage. My question is, what is the basic strategy when putting the money into these 3 things?

I recall reading somewhere on http://www.milliondollarjourney.com/ that we should:

Top up RRSP
Then mortgage
Then external investments.
I'd assume topping up TFSA is goes to the top of this list.

Is this generally correct?

·
Registered
1,455 Posts
It really depends on your situation. What is your mortgage rate? What is your balance? What is your marginal tax rate? How close are you to retirement? Do you have a defined benefit pension? Does your spouse?

·
Registered
4,647 Posts
For me it's TFSA, RRSP, non reg investments, mortgage. They're all pretty close and if anything I would want a mix due to future unknown rates. I'm comfortable with no rainy day funds as I have a empty LOC and job security

·
Registered
3,932 Posts
For me it's TFSA, RRSP, non reg investments, mortgage. They're all pretty close and if anything I would want a mix due to future unknown rates. I'm comfortable with no rainy day funds as I have a empty LOC and job security
Exactly the same for me. But, I think I'd throw Savings in there between RRSP and Non-Registered.

TFSA, RRSP, Savings, Non-Registereds, Mortgage

·
Banned
967 Posts
Is there any disadvantage to doing a bit of everything? A kind of diversification? Given that any decision you make today is base on imperfect information, and subject to future investment returns, future interest rates, and changes in tax laws.

·
Registered
7,252 Posts
I try to do a bit of everything.
If you pour everything into investments, there may not be any left for paying off mortgage faster.