Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
1,119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a recent grad my income is lower now than it will ever again be in the future, even after retirement. So is it a good idea to be maxing out my RRSP at this point in my life? If I put money in my RRSP now and then take it out after I retire when I'll probably be in a higher tax bracket, won't I be increasing the amount of tax I pay over my lifetime, which is the exact opposite of what an RRSP is intended for? Now that my student loan is finally paid off I'm saving about $1500/month. Would it be better to just put my money in a regular non-registered account instead of an RRSP (after maxing out my TFSA of course)?

·
Banned
1,119 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Nope, I already did all that.

By recent grad I meant graduated 3 years ago, I guess it's not so recent now that I think about it, but I'm still in the early stages of my career, so although my salary has grown a little bit since my first job (I switched jobs recently) I still believe it will only go up from here.

Car all paid off long ago, have apartment (furnishing it didn't cost much because I bought my furniture very gradually rather than all at once), no significant expenses to speak of other than rent. However I have very little savings because I have been throwing all my money at my student loan. Now that it's finally done with I expect I'll be accumulating money very quickly.

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
Not sure on how much RRSP room you have or what your life situation is, but after maxing TFSA, maxing the RRSP room that you have might be a fine idea. I mean, you can always w-draw 20K if needed for a home in the future.

·
Banned
1,119 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
In my opinion, if you are in a lower tax bracket now and set on contributing to your RRSP, I would carry forward the deduction for higher income years.
I was not aware that this was an option.