Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

My wife and I currently have the entire balance of our RRSPs invested in the "RBC Balanced Fund", which has a MER of 2.36%. We're both 30 years old and putting $325 a month into our individual RRSPs. Our research and planning so far consisted entirely of consultation with our RBC advisor (who, I've read, is essentially just a salesperson for RBC products, and not really invested in what's best for us).

I'm thinking I should get out of the single Balanced Fund (which has a pretty high MER) and diversify. I'm new to investing and long-term savings plans, so I'm gunshy when it comes to moving our investments outside of RBC to other banks or brokers (but I'm trying to stay open to the idea).

At the moment, I'm considering taking our entire investment out of the RBC Balanced Fund and putting it into the following:

1) RBC Canadian Index (20%)
2) RBC US Index (20%)
3) RBC International Index (20%)
4) RBC Canadian Government Bond Index Fund (40%)
5) (Should I take 5% or 10% of the total and move it into some sort of cash account?)

Those funds all have better Morningstar ratings and far lower MERs (averaging about .95%, instead of the Balanced Fund's 2.36%).

Would this make a considerable difference in what we earn, especially over the next 30-35 years? What would you change? Would you fine tune this plan, or do something completely different?

Thanks for any input - at times, I feel like we're thinking of these things 5 years too late already. But better now than in 10 or 20 years, I figure... :)

·
Registered
17,658 Posts
I was working on something very similar to this with my parent's RBC portfolio; see
http://canadianmoneyforum.com/showthread.php/14964-Looked-at-my-parent-s-mutual-fund-portfolio