Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Banned
1,241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a novice investor - I have been leaning lately towards dividend paying stock (Cdn companies) and am getting fairly comfortable with that. Before I knew anything about investing I invested a small amount (around 8 or 9K) into mutual funds ("Ethical Funds"). The company for some reason didn't have my address so they were sending the reports to my credit union who in turn didn't bother phoning me or forwarding them, so I'm a little ticked about that. So I am waiting for a current report to find out if I've made any $ on the mutual funds (I suspect not) before deciding if I should pull that money out and put into ETFs.

Since I know little about ETF's I want to do some reading up on them. Are there any good basic books or online articles members here have found really explained Canadian ETF's well? I would consider non-Cdn ETF's but have a preference for Cdn for some reason.

Also, are there any things I should be looking for specifically when deciding to pull my mutual funds and transferring them to ETF's? This is within an RSP portfolio so I'm expecting there may be some tax implications of this but I am not positive yet.

·
Registered
15,839 Posts
hello Addy, i believe it will be a great deal easier to manage your investments than to remove the concrete beds from your garden !

the etf fund companies all offer tutorials & resource materials on their websites. There's ishares (ca.ishares for the canadian ones, and ishares.com for the more numerous US-traded ones); and the new group of bmo etfs; and the vanguard and claymore families. Vanguard, as i recall, has a particularly good teaching website. Strictly in the US there are many more etf families, but you've mentioned, quite wisely, that you intend to begin with canadian etfs.