Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys!
So I'm a Registered Nurse who worked through the pandemic. I'm about to receive my pandemic pay soon and wanted some advice on where I should place this money. So I will roughly be getting between $3,000-$4,000. So should I be putting this money into my OSAP which has high interest and has $23,000 left to pay? Or should I put all the money into repaying my dad for the car I just got (he paid $8,000 for it, I have paid back $2,000 so far, I have $6,000 left to pay back) which one should I do?

·
Registered
3,079 Posts
Highest interest is first from the best financial decisions. Talk to your dad to make sure he is okay with it, from best way to manage a relationship when you have borrowed money from someone personally.

Reactions: Amna578

·
Registered
17,648 Posts
Highest interest is first from the best financial decisions. Talk to your dad to make sure he is okay with it, from best way to manage a relationship when you have borrowed money from someone personally.
I agree, you should consider your dad's perspective (and emotions). If he seems pretty relaxed about your personal loan, then paying down the higher interest rate loan first makes "technical" sense.

On the other hand, if he seems to be in a hurry to be repaid, I would try to do that for the sake of your relationship with him.

·
Registered
13,007 Posts
Paying down the highest interest is one preferred way to pay down debt. However it isn't the only way.

If you have $4000 (as an example) and you pay it off your $23,000 student debt, you still owe $19,000 student debt and $6000 to your dad.

There is no immediate improvement overall in that situation, except for lower debt costs long term. (which you can fix later with additional payments)