Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Started with a new employer recently and they have a Group registered Retirement Savings plan they offer through RBC. I am 20 years away from retirement and not afraid to take risk in my choices. I would like to pick three or four funds from RBC to have. What 3 or 4 funds do people recommended and what diversification would you guys recommend? Or do I go withe the ETF funds through RBC. Appreciate whatever help/guidance people can give me. I am new to this as my wife has been primary breadwinner till now. I realize I am starting late, so please any advice would be beneficial to me. Thanks

·
Registered
438 Posts
ranman: Best wishes with your investments. I have covered the ground you are about to traverse. My first suggestion would be to consider a laddered bond investment plan for a fairly large percentage of your your savings . You might like to read : " In Your Best Interest : The Ultimate Guide to The Canadian Bond Market " W.H. Cunningham 2006. Good luck

·
Banned
407 Posts
Started with a new employer recently and they have a Group registered Retirement Savings plan they offer through RBC. I am 20 years away from retirement and not afraid to take risk in my choices. I would like to pick three or four funds from RBC to have. What 3 or 4 funds do people recommended and what diversification would you guys recommend? Or do I go withe the ETF funds through RBC. Appreciate whatever help/guidance people can give me. I am new to this as my wife has been primary breadwinner till now. I realize I am starting late, so please any advice would be beneficial to me. Thanks