Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Banned
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All

I needed your thoughts,since I am still new to GTA.What are the new & developing citis/communities where I can buy a townhome for 300K,<10 years old and near to Go station.I was looking for 3 Br+1.5,no separate entrance for basement.Appreciate your input.Thanks.

Akhil

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
In that kind of a price range, I would research the end of the various GO lines.

300K sounds like alot of money, but it barely gets you in the RE market now.

·
Registered
7,252 Posts
akka, you have been priced out of the GTA market, like so many others.
Not your fault, blame the stupid interest rate policies of the govt.
It will be very hard to find a new(er) townhome in a good neighborhood for 300K.
You may be able to find a smaller townhome like 1500 sq. ft. or so.
Stouffville is a nice area, but it is quite far.
If you work downtown and have a permanent, fixed working hrs. job then it might work for you.
A couple of other places to consider are Cambridge, Guelph and Burlington.

·
Registered
3,936 Posts
The parking lots at the ends of GO and TTC lines are jammed up after 6AM.

Live as close to work as possible. Getting to work in the GTA is an awful experience.

If you don't believe me, try getting to/from work at your normal weekday work hours, not on a weekend.

Choose your location as close to work as humanly possible. In one of my GTA jobs I simply walked to work. Great exercise and saved a boatload of $ and commuting stress.

·
Banned
2,508 Posts
It's honestly depressing with how expensive the housing market is right now. Of course I'm in the market for an up size in the near future. There is no cheap place with affordable housing near transit anymore. The thought of having a 500,000k+ mortgage makes me sick.

·
Registered
7,252 Posts