Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi : I just need some quick inputs here . .
I am planning to use a portion of my HELOC ($10,000) to pre-pay part of my existing mortgage. Thereafter, I plan to make regular payments to my HELOC loan. Are interest payments to my HELOC loan tax deductible? I'm a bit of a newbie here and will need some advice. Thanks

·
Registered
140 Posts
The OP probably referred to a principal residence mortgage, but what if the mortgage was for a rental property? I know the interest on that mortgage would already be tax deductible, as is interest on a loan used to pay that mortgage interest. But if you borrow in order to make principal payments, is that loan's interest also deductible?
I had assumed that it wasn't, and have only been paying the interest portion of the mortgage payments out of my cash dam HELOC. But maybe I'm wrong, perhaps the entire mortgage payment on the rental can be paid out of the HELOC and still keep it 100% deductible interest?

·
Registered
12,776 Posts
Some accountants will mistakenly tell you that a loan to pay the principle on an investment property mortgage is non-deductible. It is, however. Think of it as refinancing the investment loan. Just keep in mind only the interest portion of the mortgage payment is tax deductible, because the principle payment is not an actual expense but a loan repayment.

·
Registered
140 Posts
Some accountants will mistakenly tell you that a loan to pay the principle on an investment property mortgage is non-deductible. It is, however. Think of it as refinancing the investment loan. Just keep in mind only the interest portion of the mortgage payment is tax deductible, because the principle payment is not an actual expense but a loan repayment.