Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I owe 6,000 on my line of credit is this a big debt or being in debt I still rent so I don,t have a mortgage can I get some advice

·
Registered
382 Posts
Second that; pay any debt off as fast as you can, interest == money lost that you could use for other purposes, like saving.

·
Registered
1,455 Posts
Draft a budget, find ways to create excess cash flow by either saving more money or earning more income. Put excess cash flow towards highest interest debt. Repeat to next highest interest rate debt until all is eliminated.

·
Registered
274 Posts
All things being relative how are we to know if $6,000 is a big debt or not. I'll take a guess and say for you it is since you appear to be a total novice and you are likely quite young. As mentioned pay it off.

·
Registered
222 Posts
Pfft. Don't pay it off. The trick is to keep adding more debt! Live the high life, buy a BMW, big screen TV, and play PS3 all day. Call in sick for work every second Friday so that you can practice your Modern Warfare skillz. Take a few trips to warm locations -- Hawai'i is nice at this time of year.

Once you've racked up a good $60k in credit card debts, and are hopelessly behind on the interest payments, you can declare bankruptcy. Sell your stuff. Quit work; go on social assistance. And find yourself unable to buy a house or get financing on a car loan for years to come.

Or ... joking aside, you can stay on top of your debt and Do Not Buy What You Cannot Afford.

K.

·
Registered
420 Posts
Any amount of consumer debt is bad debt. The only good debt is debt that helps you to meet your financial goals - i.e. mortgage debt, student loans, leveraged investing...

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Any amount of consumer debt is bad debt. The only good debt is debt that helps you to meet your financial goals - i.e. mortgage debt, student loans, leveraged investing...