Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am fairly new to investing and would like to take a position in the Beutal Goodman Small Cap D fund (good rating on morningstar and high since inception return). While looking at the prospectus, this statement was listed under risk:

"As at May 31, 2016, one investor owned units representing approximately 71% of the net asset value of the Fund. If such investor requested the
redemption of all of its units, the Fund may have to alter its holdings significantly and purchase or sell investments at unfavourable prices. This
could reduce the returns of the Fund."

I am hoping someone can break this statement down for me and help me understand the consequences of what would happen if this investor redeemed all of their units.

Thank you!

·
Registered
7,014 Posts
Well, it says one person owns 71% of the fund and wants his money. In order to accommodate this request, the fund would have to basically liquidate a majority of its holdings. If they sell now, they probably won't get the best prices and they may have to sell more of some stuff than others depending on their liquidity.

Value investing usually means buying when it's undervalued and selling when its true value is realized. That time may not be when this majority owner forces the fund to sell, when they sell the gains/losses are locked in and the returns are recorded. In a down period, that can affect the fund's return, so it'll look bad.

Also, there is less money in the fund, more than 70% less, which means they probably can't buy the same way they had in the past. Plus, for people who only look at returns and not holdings as their investment decision maker will probably avoid this fund in the future.

Long story short, Things don't look good for this fund going forward.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3