Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m in kind of a weird situation. I had a cell phone with Koodo when I was in university and, upon getting my free credit report, I realized I had owed $30 on the account for the last 5 years or so.

I paid the balance as soon as I realized I owed money on the account (it had been inactive for years). I hadn’t gotten any notice that I owed money and I’m assuming the bill showed up when I switched carriers and I just missed it somehow.

Anyways, has anyone ever been in a similar situation and gotten the bad credit off of their report?
I understand it is my fault I didn’t pay the bill but I didn’t know it existed and over the 5 years of me not paying it no one contacted me (although my address changed a few times over that period).

·
Registered
1,781 Posts
I have no real knowledge of these things, but I have always understood that black marks on your report drop off after seven years. I don't think you can have a black mark expunged unless you can show it was wrongly entered. But you can advise the credit reporting agency that the debt has been cleared.

In any event, if in the past 5 years the only blot on the otherwise pristine landscape is that $30 item, I would say it should be of no consequence for anyone evaluating your creditworthiness.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have no real knowledge of these things, but I have always understood that black marks on your report drop off after seven years. I don't think you can have a black mark expunged unless you can show it was wrongly entered. But you can advise the credit reporting agency that the debt has been cleared.

In any event, if in the past 5 years the only blot on the otherwise pristine landscape is that $30 item, I would say it should be of no consequence for anyone evaluating your creditworthiness.