Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Banned
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How do I find a property that is way undervalued? My problem is that I do not trust people (real estate agents) that have a finical motive when giving me advice or trying to sell me something. I am not convinced that they have my best interest at heart. But how else do I find this kind of investment opportunity?

I do not mind buying through an agent, I just don't trust them.

·
Registered
378 Posts
You are right - your best interests are not theirs.

As a former realtor I would get calls from time to time from people who were not really looking but if it was a really good deal then maybe I would be interested...I tossed their contact info right away. I recall asking one such person I asked if what they were interested in was a really messy divorce that needed an instant sale or someother situation where the seller was under financial stress and needed to sell? "Exactly!" As if! Why would I call YOU?

A realtor would buy it themselves (or a relation, excellent client) long before it hit the market and likely for a more fair price - Realtors are regulated and want to avoid any perception of taking advantage of people. Why would I call some jerk?