Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am new to investing and have excess cash sitting in various high interest savings accounts (1.5% !!)

I am in my early 30's and have no debts or property.

I am looking to take half our cash savings and hedge against weakening canadian dollar and hedge against a down turn in the stock market sometime in the next few years.

Wondering what would be the best way to do this?

Buy physical gold? or Buy gold etf in usd?

Thanks

Your input is much appreciated.

·
Registered
5,223 Posts
buy some stocks, buy some bonds, buy some gold, buy some dollars and maybe buy some euros and keep a good size chunk in cash ...

if you find a better way, let me know

ps. what if the market doesn’t turn down but turns up ? and what if oil strengthens and we get our oil to market and the loonie soars ?

·
Registered
17,637 Posts
You're concerned about two things in particular: falling CAD, and falling stock market.

Approach 1: a standard asset allocation between stocks and bonds is probably enough to protect you, for example 60% stocks 40% bonds. Foreign stock exposure protects you from a weakening CAD. Bonds protect you from a falling stock market. The only scenario this doesn't cover is falling CAD + falling stocks at the same time.

Approach 2: about the same as what fatcat says, take that asset allocation further by adding cash and gold. My preferred way of doing this is the permanent portfolio, described in this thread. Here you have equal allocations to stocks, bonds, gold, cash. If CAD falls, the stocks and gold protect you. For gold exposure, it doesn't matter if the ETF is in US or Canada. I prefer MNT in Canada and IAU in the US.

2008 is a good case study for your scenario. The most painful period was 2008-06-01 to year end, when the CAD fell 18% and stocks fell about 40%.