Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My benefits through my employer are up for annual renewal.

My benefits include basic life insurance of 1x my annual salary ($107K). I have the option to purchase additional coverage up to 5x my salary. If I do so, the cost per month would be $18.90 for $632K of coverage ($525000 + $107000). (the additional coverage only comes in units of $25K).

Now, I am an engineer, so I could get coverage through Manulife at what seems to be a slightly better rate: $17.02 / month for $650K in coverage according to their online quote calculator.

1) So obviously, Manulife is a bit cheaper, which is a plus. Does anyone here deal with them? Are they reputable?

2) If I leave my company, I suppose my worry would be that I would lose coverage right? Then I would have to get new coverage at a more advanced age - which would probably cost more? This obviously seems like a big limitation / downside right?

3) is there anything else I am missing? Other options I should consider?

·
Banned
1,855 Posts
I might be inclined to go with Manulife if only because it is independent of your employer. If you are in good health now is the time to do it. A few years from now you could be consulting, work for a firm that does not offer this benefit AND you could have developed a medical condition that negatively impacts your ability to get term insurance at a good price.

When I had term, our company insured us for 2X salary. We had the ability to buy another 5X salary at a very, very low rate. I went for the max because I had small children. Some fellow employees thought that I was nuts. Sure enough, five years on the company cut back on how much additional term one could by, or at least the carrier did. There were a number of ees that were sorry that they did not purchase the max when they had a chance. They also brought in a medical questionnaire that was not present when I first signed up.

·
Registered