Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,925 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1. Diversification is very important.
Lesson here is it did no good in the crash.

2. Gold is barbaric and blah, blah, blah
Guess what it did great this decade because it is in a bull market stupid.

3. The market is efficient
No it is manipulated

4. I am confident because I studied and I know.
No the market is manipulated and you do not know. Look at all the experts and very smart people who get it wrong all the time.

5. I buy safe dividend paying stocks.
So did all the people in the US that got screwed over.

6. You can never trust anyone and everyone is out for themselves.
Very true in the stock market and in business.

7. Keep an open mind no matter how crazy it sounds.
True, you say they are all idiots but in the end you are the idiot. This happens in sports all the time when you think you can easily beat the worst team in the league you end up losing.

·
Registered
274 Posts
The market is efficient, but not over short time periods. Things will revert to the mean eventually. This is simple fact. No one can manipulate the market to a great enough extent for a great enough timeframe... or at least no one will care to do this for several years as numerous better "opportunities" will always appear.

The crash only affected the US?? I think you mean so did people everywhere...

·
Registered
2,925 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Mogul777 the person who is the most fun here, and I am not joking, apparently there is 600 billion invested in the US market that is not accounted for in 2009 and that counts institutions, mutual funds, hedge funds and so on. I believe there is money to be made but we are in an end game as the US and many other countries are bankrupt. So I believe we could be in the period of make believe at this point.

·
Registered
382 Posts
Replying to the OP's points in numbered order...