Canadian Money Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
11,979 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Lately i noticed a lot of ads offering Work at Home online (data entry, surveys etc). Most likely majority of those jobs are scam.... anybody knows any legitimate Work at Home online websites?

·
Registered
3,061 Posts
As someone who has worked at home since 1994 (with a one-year break around 1999 when I rented an office because I felt too isolated), I think your best approach is to think about the types of jobs that could be done mostly or entirely at home and apply for those, rather than looking for sites that advertise jobs specifically because they can be done from home. In my experience, as you point out, most "work from home" sites and advertisements are likely to be scams of one sort or another.

A better approach is to think about what kind of work can be done at home. I started working at home when I was a journalist, and my current work involves writing, editing, website development and management, and project management. All of those can be done at home provided the employer is open to the idea and the specifics of the tasks allow it. I had to pass up one dream job because the employer really felt that I would need to be on site, and as I discussed the job with him I came to the same conclusion.