Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
16,700 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to rent a new place. For the last few years, I've been renting in the US, so I don't have recent Canadian rental history. I'm self employed, no official pay slips or pay deposits.

I am a Canadian citizen and resident, and have good credit. What I can show are printouts of my bank account showing plenty of cash (easily 24 months of rent). I could also show my self-employment invoices; these give an idea of the cashflow I have. These are invoices that I create and deliver to my customers.

If you were the landlord, what kind of documentation would you like to see before you rent to someone like me? Is the bank account printout enough?

·
Registered
1,851 Posts
Proof of income (tax notice of assessment)?
I take it j4b that you have been reporting all your income in Canada as well as US income in the US. I have been filing US taxes for 25 years and still waiting for a notice of assessment. As a tax accountant there explained to me long ago, the IRS does not issue notices of assessment. He said "if you file your return and never hear anything, it's been accepted".

So yes, NoA is good. Not sure about Canada, but US landlords always (well, at least if they are doing their homework) get a credit bureau report on applicants.

·
Registered
16,700 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
As a proud Canadian, I have been filing and paying Canadian taxes all these years, even though (strictly speaking) I did not have to.

@andrewf mentioned "proof of income" which is new to me. It's an additional document available through CRA. It's similar to a NoA but, even though I just filed 2019 today, was immediately available whereas the NoA might take a few weeks.

@Mukhang pera try out the IRS feature called "transcript". You can order this from their web site and they will mail something similar to a NoA to the address on file.

·
Registered
3,625 Posts