Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am considring investing my own 200 k cad in buying a studio spartment and renting it for 10 years before selling it. I anticipate monthly rent of 1200 cad and monthly expenses of 500 cad leaving 700 cad/month (8400 cad/year) which is about 4 per cent yield on investment. I anticipate the property will apreciate considerably in 10 years.
I am new in Calgary and to investment and will apreciate comments and if my plan makes sense noting that I am retired at 66 old and seek safe investment.

Imark

·
Registered
450 Posts
Ok, I'll bite, but soon I'll have to lay off or I'll get a reputation as that housing bear guy :)

So, the first question is, do you have any experience with landlording? I ask because it's important to know before you jump in if your numbers are accurate -- is $1200/mo an accurate number for the rent for the unit you're considering, and is $500/mo an accurate number for the expenses? Does this include a vacancy allowance? If you have to pay utilities such as heat, hydro, or water, have you factored that in? ($500/mo looks like it's probably just maintenance, taxes, and vacancy).

The next question is, how much appreciation do you expect in 10 years. Why? And, will that appreciation even cover the transaction fees?

Personally, I don't expect any appreciation in Canadian urban real estate, because of those rental yields. If you had a mortgage at anything but our current emergency stimulus rates, you couldn't make money with a 4% yield. If an investor can't leverage up and make money now, then who's going to buy it at a 3% yield?

If you're retired, do you want to be a landlord? It's not nearly as passive as buying a GIC or mutual fund.