Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Due to a family trust structure (I do contract work) my kids aged 3 and 5 each have personal bank accounts with about $32K each in them. I'd rather not have these sit in cash. These are also not in-trust accounts, as this is money the kids received as income, and they do pay tax on it. So I'm not sure if an informal trust investment account would work.

Are there still options for getting these into some better investment strategy? Mutual funds if need be. Some if it needs to remain liquid as these funds are also used to pay for certain things for them (dentist, etc).

Thanks for any input.

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
I would consider using an RESP to hold some of it for their future education. Then at least whatever you invest within the RESP the gov't will give you 20% up to the annual max. deposit.

·
Banned
4 Posts
Move it under the trust

Caution - I am not a lawyer, and definitely not a tax one nor accountant

If I'm understanding you, you have a family trust with your kids as some of the beneficiaries. Each of them has personal (not in-trust) bank accounts and you're wondering how to move that money for investments.

You sound like you're fine with the kids having control of those funds when they turn 18, or even before then?

I imagine you have a holding company hanging off the family trust as well, and that this holding company already has investment/trading accounts? You could loan the money from the children to the holding company, with appropriate documentation and paying a slightly above rate of interest to prevailing rates. Any income generated in the holding company now comes under the control of the trust/holding company and you can decide how to dividend it out to the children as you see fit, now or at 18.