Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Banned
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I have been lurking around CMF, and I have to really thank you all for how great a resource this forum is to me.

I am currently a student, and with a meagre income from summer jobs, I haven't exactly had a steady income. Saving money, and taking a shot at the market by investing my money were some ideas that came to mind, but I have no idea what to do with the money I have at the moment.

Instead of consulting with a manager whose perspectives are subjective in the hopes of selling products to me, I really want to know what CMF thinks would be a good plan for students like myself.

I have maxed my TFSA contributions for these two years (a no-brainer), and I've taken a look at GICs (of which are not attractive at all, locking at a rate that might rise soon). Moreover, I have cashable government savings bonds that mature in 2016, 2017 and 2018 amounting to around 16k in cash. I've considered cashing out these bonds especially with the terrible rates of these bonds, and throwing the cash into a savings accounts while I decide how to invest.

I do not come from a wealthy background, so keeping liquidity was kept in mind these couple of years.

Any feedback, advice and recommendations would be appreciated, especially if it helps other students in the same boat.

Thank you!

·
Registered
128 Posts
The only way to get better returns is to invest in the markets.
Personally I would open up a trading account with a discount broker, the only
way to become a good investor is through experience.
I have had to learn through trial and a lot of error :D, besides you have
lots of time to recover if you stumble.

·
Registered
90 Posts
If you have the option to cash out the GICs at any time, then they are probably fine where they are, and you should not think too seriously about investing in stocks until you have money you can afford to lose.