Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am quite new to investing and very conservative with the objective of having cash flow in order to make my savings last as long as I live.
One product of Claymore cought my attention because it gives high dividence.

" Canadian Dividend ETF has been designed to replicate the performance of the S&P/TSX Canadian Dividend Aristocrats Index. To qualify for membership in the S&P/TSX Canadian Dividend Aristocrats Index, Standard & Poor’s must first consider the company a “Dividend Aristocrat” by satisfying the following criteria:

1.The company’s security is a common stock or income trust listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange and a constituent of the S&P Canada Broad Market Index (BMI).
2.The security has increased ordinary cash dividends every year for at least five consecutive years.
3.The float-adjusted market capitalization of the security, at the time of the review, must be at least C$ 300 million"

To my naiive mind, the product is attractive? but what doyou think?

Imad

·
Registered
3,257 Posts
It's fine, but you need to understand that between August of 2008 and March of 2009 it lost about 50% of it's value, so it will fluctuate like any other stock fund or etf.

·
Banned
424 Posts
I have mixed feelings about this fund. The index has a favourable long term record, and the dividends are high.

But a lot of the 'dividend' is from .UN companies and fully taxable. So it would be best to only hold it in a tax protected account. The income trusts will suffer later this year.

I look at the top five holdings and I think I might prefer to have big banks, Telus, TRP et cetera. On the other hand I mistrust cap weighted indices.

I would probably lean toward CRQ or XCV because I like value weighting.

·
Registered
12,774 Posts
I have mixed feelings about this fund. The index has a favourable long term record, and the dividends are high.