1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Banned
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all,

Hoping you can send some advice my way.

I'm 32, my partner is 35.
I gross $42,500; partner grosses $140,000 plus possible $40k in bonuses (this year he had 50% pay due to recession).
$198,000 in debt (going down by about $6,000 each month from our net of $10,500).
House is worth $460,000 (lender appraisal).

Only $40,000 in retirement savings.

Bank is offering us a new $250,000 mortgage, 2 year term, at 2.9% fixed rate. We can characterize the loan as for "investment purposes" and make it tax-deductible.

Should we do it? I feel like we are late in the game when it comes to retirement savings. We are planning to have a baby in 1-2 years (but won't need to move).

Partner's income is from his partly-owned oil&gas company, so if another slowdown happens, his income will go down. I'm a junior lawyer at a small-town firm.

·
Registered
3,197 Posts
Let me get this straight. You're current debt is $198,000 (presumably mortgage debt on your home); you are already concerned that the major income partner's income is not stable from year to year; but you are thinking of increasing your debt to $448,000 so you can invest? You must like living on the edge.

·
Banned
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Should have added that we are owed shareholder's loan of $600k (so our networth is pretty solid), and partner is CEO & can ensure that leverage never endangers that position.

And yes, all our debt is mortgage debt, except for $29,000 of what's left of my student loans.

So you would suggest paying off mortgage debt and no saving?
Or slow down mortgage repayment and put half away for retirement?

Saving for retirement is not as tax efficient as taking on the debt...

Thanks for the comment. I'm tired of real-life taboos against money discussion.

·
Banned
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #4