Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,165 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just read the article in the G&M about the percentage of pre retirement income required in retirement. I don't know if I am getting more cynical with old age or if I just have more time to think about this stuff, but it seems to me that these commentators continually confuse correlation with causation. It's not that retirees only need X% of pre retirement income but rather that's all they have so they adjust their budgets accordingly. My take away is "save as much as you can(within reason) and then spend as much as allowed by the accumulated nest egg". It turns out that due to luck and perhaps good planning we are spending about 30% more in retirement than before. This is because we can. Acknowledge that we are not typical but the stuff you read seems pretty poor to me. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
1,748 Posts
I do this for a living, and in my experience, most individuals don't start saving in earnest until their mid to late 40s. By then, their mortgage is paid off, kids are on their way, they are comfortable in their career, and salaries are starting to grow comfortably.

The problem is that everyone has a different idea about lifestyle, pre and post retirement. Some prefer to live life when they are younger, and relax/wind down when they retire. Others prefer to scrimp when working and blow it off on travel, etc when retired. Then there are the higher NW types who concentrate on leaving an estate, or those who are anxious about care costs in old age.

My wish, albeit a tad self-serving, is that more people would plan their future in a mathematically-rigorous way instead of simply 'tracking their net worth' or itemizing their expenses month to month. The average home PC has more computer power than it took NASA to send a man to the moon and yet we don't use it for something as important as planning our financial future.

·
Registered
1,170 Posts