Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So the other day some company said Research In Motion's stock is undervalued and should be closer to $93 (from $63) and the stock is taking off big time. A few days earlier Manulife Financial also got upgraded (from another company) saying the stock should be $24+ (up from 18.50) but Manulife's stock has gone down since then. what gives?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I realize they are in two different industries and so far the past few days a lot of financial institutions value have dropped a few %, but even before this happened MFC has been dropping after it got upgraded while RIM has shot up right away.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
:rolleyes: I am a novice as I have stated in my first thread on this forum. Are you telling me you have all the answers and ask no questions at all?

·
Registered
3,423 Posts
Red - you are welcome to ask any questions you want. Other forum members are just as free to ignore them if they don't like it.

To answer your question - this example shows how hard it is to predict the short term movements of stock prices. Some (including myself) might say it is impossible.

·
Registered
2,925 Posts
Also keep in mind no matter what someone says a stock is worth if the markets go down or get hammered so will your stock in most cases.

·
Registered
1,516 Posts
So the other day some company said Research In Motion's stock is undervalued and should be closer to $93 (from $63) and the stock is taking off big time. A few days earlier Manulife Financial also got upgraded (from another company) saying the stock should be $24+ (up from 18.50) but Manulife's stock has gone down since then. what gives?